Expiration of food?

Home Forums Homesteading Expiration of food?

This topic contains 17 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Andieisme 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

Andieisme

Hi! I’m completely new to this, but wanted to find some real information on preparing for various disasters that could occur.

I’m concerned about the shelf life of pre packaged foods. I mean, what do I do with all that food if by the end of the shelf life I have had no need to use them? Eat them? Other suggestions? Would a food bank want them?

TeknaBuzz
    Keymaster

I think its best to store what you already eat that way you can always be using the items nearest to the expiration date. When we first started focusing on food storage we wanted to be able to store as much food possible without having to make changes to our regular diet. For the most part we was able to achieve this without adding any new kind of meals but our selection of meal choices was somewhat reduced at least initially.

My wife is no Betty Crocker but she’s getting better at cooking up some of those meals we gave up on by using made from scratch ingredients.

I’ve also realized that with our eating habits it was much hard for us to store what we eat during the summer months which for us in Texas is 9 months of the year. This was mainly due to our meals being so heavily influenced by meats (beef & chicken) alone. So with that we haven’t removed meats from our diet just incorporated less of involved with the meals utilizing more rice, pasta and involves more canned foods.

If the need ever came up in which our food was nearing expiration before we could use it we’d just donate to our church.

00_Jackie

In a perfect world, if you buy what you normally eat, you can rotate it and as you eat the food, replenish stock.