Has anyone ever built an AR15 from a stripped lower? Might be a good idea.

Home Forums Firearms & Weaponry Has anyone ever built an AR15 from a stripped lower? Might be a good idea.

This topic contains 25 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  JulioTheSavage 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author

JulioTheSavage

When I decided to buy an AR15 for a SHTF situation I figured why not build one instead of buying one already assembled. Since I’m a mechanic and good with my hands I figured it couldn’t be too hard. In the Marines I learned the basic disassembly and maintenance but I wanted to get more intimate with the black rifle. I think it was a good idea cause in a SHTF event you may need to repair your gun.
    I’m sure some of you guys or gals on here who are gun enthusiasts have already done it, but I’m not sure if other people have thought about it.

PhilTheBiker

Yes, you can, it’s not too hard unless you are talking about building one as in buying an 80% lower, drilling out the proper holes and then attaching a completed upper, stock, trigger group, and barrel. It’s easy to buy all the parts, they are all standard unless you go siaga then they might not be. If you try to build an 80% lower you can avoid all paperwork but can never sell the lower even through a dealer. I have friends that have purchased completed lowers with paperwork, picked up the uppers so they could mix and match exactly what they wanted. I don’t know much and haven’t done any of the above, however, the parts are standard.

JulioTheSavage

@philthebiker 6064 wrote: